The Western African region includes many of the countries along the Atlantic coast of West Africa south of the Sahara Desert, and extends far into the landlocked countries of Northern and Central Africa (Chad and the Central African Republic). Our treatment of this region includes 22 African nations. Cereal-root crop intercropping and agro-pastoral systems both dominant the region’s agriculture. Millet and sorghum are the most widely grown crops and pulses and maize are also important.

Countries in West Africa: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Chad, Congo, Cote d'Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo