The Comprehensive Africa Agriculture Development Programme (CAADP) works to eliminate hunger and reduce poverty through agricultural development. Their work falls under 4 pillars: land and water management, market access, food supply and hunger, and agricultural research. CAADP evolved from the New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD), a programme created by the Africa Union at the turn of this century. NEPAD is spearheaded by a consortium of African leaders with a common goal: transform Africa’s growth, development and participation in the global economy.

CAADP is the African-led framework set up by NEPAD to increase food production in Africa. To reach their goals, a united front of African governments agreed to increase public investment in agriculture by 10% of their national budgets and boost agricultural productivity by at least 6%. Currently, 9 countries (Angola, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Burkina Faso, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Nigeria, Senegal, and Tanzania) have exceeded this target. At least 26 countries in Africa have signed CADDP Compacts - a roadmap for strengthening agricultural and rural development strategies in African countries and incorporating CAADP goals into their agricultural agendas.

Visit the CAADP website.

Countries in CAADP include Benin, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Cote d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia.